COMMITTEE 2019/2020 

Iain Young


I’m Iain Young and I’m currently President of ERRS and also sit on the SRRA committee.  I played rugby through school and university, then joined London Scottish when I moved to London with work.  I played there for 13 years before injury struck and I took up refereeing in 2002, in order to put something back into the game.  In addition, I coach the U16s at Kirkcaldy RFC.  For me, refereeing is an important element of providing a safe environment for players to be creative in deploying their skill set and for stamping out cynicism: that’s why my favourite law is the advantage law 

Gordon Grant


Arrived into referee-ing via Boroughmuir youth rugby in 2000, and have been involved with the committee in various roles since 2009.  Currently acting as honorary secretary, ticket and dinner co-ordinator to ERRS and as a performance reviewer for the SRU.

Tony Reilly

Ordinary Member

Former youth (U18) and senior 3rd XV player with Cumbernauld. Stepped away from playing for a few years, switched coasts and got the bug back, joined Leith Rugby and was part of the team that won 2 consecutive promotions. Retired due to injury, took up refereeing out of curiosity.

Johnathan Cockayne

Ordinary Member

Played rugby at school before knee ligament damage at university led to long spell out of the game. Returned to the sport ten years later and played in Scotland and Italy before moving into coaching and refereeing. Now enjoying waking up on Sunday mornings injury free.

Please reload